College is expensive.

That is why DCTFCU offered our members who had high school seniors graduating this year an opportunity to defray some of the costs.

This year, we had an overwhelming response to our 2018 Scholarship Program and are very pleased to announce that we had six recipients who each received a $1,000 award to put towards furthering their education.

DCTFCU would like to congratulate the following scholarship recipients:

  • Laurielle M. Johnson, Paint Branch HS — MD
  • Darien J. Killebrew, The Potomac School — VA
  • Alana C. O’Brien, Woodrow Wilson SHS — DC
  • Janaye A. Young, Bishop McNamara SHS — MD
  • Mia J. Young, Takoma Academy — MD
  • Maliya K. Brooks-Vaughan, Charles Herbert Flowers HS — MD

The recipients of our scholarship must be a DCTFCU member for one year or more, and be a well-rounded student with at least a “B” average. In order for the scholarship to be awarded, each applicant must submit a copy of their SAT or ACT, a letter of recommendation from their principal or guidance counselor, and a recent photo. Each of our scholarship recipients met all of the requirements to be eligible for the $1,000 award.

Keep an eye on our website and newsletter for the announcement of our 2019 Scholarship Program.

Recipients from left to right: Mia J. Young, Alana C. O’Brien, Darien J. Killebrew, Laurielle M. Johnson, Maliya K. Brooks-Vaughan, Not pictured: Janaye A. Young