D.C. Teachers’ Federal Credit Union was originally chartered in 1936 by the District of Columbia. Today it’s a federal credit union. Like other credit unions, our not-for-profit, service-oriented, member-focused approach to business distinguishes it from other types of financial institutions, as do our lower loan rates and higher dividends.

Designed to Be Different

Once a Member, Always a Member

After you join, you’ll remain a member even if you no longer meet eligibility requirements. That means your family members will still be eligible to join as well.

Member/Owner Control

As a cooperative, we are a membership organization. Our members exercise control over the Credit Union through their annual election of the Board of Directors. The Board governs the affairs of the Credit Union.

A Vision for Excellence

Our Vision is to make D.C. Teachers’ Federal Credit Union a number one world class credit union which will provide the best in financial services.

Who Can Join

You can join D.C. Teachers’ Federal Credit Union if you belong to any of the following groups:

Employees, pensioners and annuitants of:

  • American Federation of School Administrators
  • The American Federation of Teachers
  • The District Board of Higher Education
  • The District Board of Vocational Education
  • AFL-CIO (Washington, DC)
  • The Council of School Officers, Local 4, AFL-CIO
  • D.C. Public Schools Students/Employees
  • D.C. Public Charter Schools
  • D.C.P.S. Board of Education
  • The University of the District of Columbia
    (Students, Faculty and Alumni)
  • Washington Teachers’ Union (Local 6)
  • Prince Hall Masons and Eastern Stars, District of Columbia Jurisdiction
  • Wireless Communications, Inc.
  • BR Movers
  • Techna-Graphics Inc.
  • Urban Family Institute, Washington, DC
  • The Way of the Cross Church Daycare

Family Members

Immediate family members (spouses, parents, children, siblings, grandchildren, stepparents, stepchildren, step siblings, adoptive parents or children and legal guardians and their wards) of DCTFCU members are also eligible to join the credit union.
Join the Credit Union

Board & Committees

Board Members

Mr. Jerome Shelton, Chair
Mr. William Bailey, Sr., Vice Chair
Ms. Tamika L. Taylor, Esq., Treasurer
Mr. Lester W. Jones, Secretary
Dr. C. Denise Witcher Sessoms, Director
Dr. Harriett F. Kargbo, Director
Mrs. Geraldine B. Keyes, Director
Ms. Sheila J. Reid, Director

Supervisory Committee

Harriett F. Kargbo
Wellington J. Wilder, Jr.

Credit Committee

Mr. Lester W. Jones, Chairman
Ms. Rosalinn G. Wedge
Mrs. Constance Reddix 


2017 Annual Report

Accounts Terms, Disclosures & Agreements (opens in new window)