Find a Surcharge-Free ATM

85,000+ ATMs Nationwide



The Nominating Committee for the upcoming Annual Meeting has placed the following members of the DCTFCU Board of Directors on the ballot, Wednesday, March 28, 2018 at 3:15 P.M. at the University of the District of Columbia/ CCDC – Bertie Backus Campus / Room 129, 5171 South Dakota Avenue, NE, Washington, D.C. 20017.

  • Dr. Harriett F. Kargbo
  • Ms. Sheila J. Reid
  • Mr. Jerome Shelton
  • Dr. C. Denise Witcher Sessoms

All members are advised that the above mem-bers’ names will be placed on our election ballot. In accordance with Article VI, section 2 of the bylaws – during the Annual Meeting – nominations from the floor will not be accepted. Everyone who plans to attend our Meeting must bring their DCTFCU (Credit Union) I.D. Card and/or a Driver’s License and be prepared to present it to gain admittance.

William Bailey, Sr.
Chairperson, Nominating Committee

Board of Directors

Dr. Harriett F. Kargbo – commenced her career in the District of Columbia Public School System, working in many capacities: mathematics teacher, program coordinator, business manager, assistant principal, and principal. Currently, she is an assistant professor at Coppin State University in the School of Education, serving on several committees. In 2001, Dr. Kargbo began volunteering on the District of Columbia Teachers’ Federal Credit Union (DCTFCU) Supervisory Committee; her input and skills continue to be valued. She is selfless, tenacious, and supportive of the mission for the DCTFCU. 

Ms. Sheila J. Reid has been a member and supporter of the D.C. Teachers’ Federal Credit Union over for thirty-one (31) years and an employee of the D.C. Public School System for over thirty-five (35) years. Serving as a volunteer to the Board of Directors for the past eighteen (20) years has given her the opportunity to gain knowledge in the operation of the Credit Union and the services it provides to our membership. Her interest in encouraging others to join and utilize the many services offered by the Credit Union has continued to grow. It is Ms. Reid’s strong feeling, if elected, to serve on the Board of Directors and continue in enthusiastic pursuit to build the best Credit Union possible.

Mr. Jerome Shelton Past Chairman of the District of Columbia Teachers’ Federal Credit Union, Mr. Jerome Shelton continued his service to our organization as Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors. Concurrent with his service to DCTFCU, in 2010 he was elected as an Alumni Trustee Representative to the University of the District of Columbia. He brings years of experience as a teacher, principal, coach, union leader and board executive. He served as a teacher at the elementary, middle and high school levels in the District of Columbia Public Schools, largely in Ward 5.  His experience includes service as an elected Teacher Representative to the Executive Board of the Washington Teachers’ Union; volunteer Chair of the Region C Elementary Athletic League; Chairman of the Association of Assistant Principals for Community Education and numerous board and union committee positions. After varying experiences as an administrator in the DC Public Schools including schools like Bunker Hill, Harrison, Brookland Elementary Schools, The Fort Lincoln Elementary Middle & Community School, The Dix Street Academy, Dunbar and Eastern Senior High Schools, Mr. Shelton retired in 2002 after serving as Principal at Eastern. Subsequent to retirement from the D.C. Public Schools, he provided his educational leadership experience to the Prince George’s County Public School System where he served as an administrator for eight years. In June 2011, he retired from that system. Mr. Shelton understands firsthand, the challenges and rewards of working, managing and leading in organizations, as well as living a fulfilling life.

Dr. C. Denise Witcher Sessoms, Ed.D. Dr. Sessoms is currently serving as Chairman of the Board of Directors of D.C. Teachers’ Federal Credit Union. Professionally, she has served in numerous positions in the District of Columbia Public Schools, Prince George’s County Public Schools and Bowie State University. Dr. Sessoms has been Assistant Principal, Reading Specialist, Testing Coordinator, Teacher, Attendance Counselor, Math Specialist, Adjunct Professor, Mentor, and Resource Teacher. She has served in numerous officer positions professionally and socially. These experiences have provided the insight, vision, versatility, financial expertise and compassion mandated in order to efficiently serve our District of Columbia Teachers’ Federal Credit Union. She served as a volunteer of DCTFCU for over ten years prior to becoming a member of the Board of Directors.